Online photography degree?

9 years 7 months ago #397681 by Ted Baker
My sister just asked me yesterday that she would like to get into photography and my opinion of getting a online degree in photography.  I told her I was self taught and didn't have much opinion or knowledge of online degree's.  I'm wondering if anyone here might have an opinion on this that you can share please?  

Thank you

Photo Comments
9 years 7 months ago #397817 by garyrhook
If she already has a demonstrated predeliction for art, and simply needs to study the mechanics of photography, find local classes and online resources.

If there's no history at all, get a camera and start shooting, then find local classes and online resources, and then a mentor.

Photography degree? 

Photo Comments
9 years 7 months ago #397977 by ShadowWalker
What is she looking to get out of photography?  Hobby or for hire one day?

Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: ubookoo
9 years 7 months ago #397995 by ubookoo
Clients never once asked me to see a degree. They want to see the quality of your work, your price structure, and in situations like weddings they want to know they can stand to be around you for 4 to 10 hours. :-)

9 years 7 months ago #398041 by KCook
Local classes or workshops make more sense to me.  Though the online degree might help in landing an assistant position with an established photographer.

Kelly

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

9 years 7 months ago #398180 by Ted Baker
First off, thank you for the answers. How about Meetup up groups?   This wasn't around when I got started and I have noticed some groups that focus on getting started in Photography.  Now these are all for pay groups, but the price is only $10 to $25 per Meetup. 

Photo Comments
9 years 7 months ago #398204 by PT Talker