Wedding questions!

9 years 6 months ago - 9 years 6 months ago #400305 by Georgian-Si-Valentina-Mihaila
Hi guys, I have a few questions regarding a small wedding that I have to photograph at the end of this month. I am a beginner and this is my first time. They were not going to hire anyone anyway. So I offer to do it to get some experience. No pressure ....but I want to give them decent pictures. I will only photograph the church ceremony and the party afterwords .They allow flash on both location.

My equipment: Canon 60D
                       TAmron 24-70, 2.8 lens
                       Canon 18-55, 3.5 IS and 55-200 IS kit lens
                       Canon 50mm 1.8 Prime
                       Younguo YN 565EX E-ttl speedlite and two YN560-III

Question 1: What lens should I use? Can I use Tamron 24-70, 2.8 for everything?
Question 2: I will use on camera E-TTL speedlight. Shoud I set up 1 or 2 speed lights as slaves placed in two opposite corners of the room? Ceilings are tall and vaulted (A shape).

Thank you and I am looking forward to hear from you!!

Georgian

9 years 6 months ago - 9 years 6 months ago #400346 by KCook

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

The following user(s) said Thank You: Georgian-Si-Valentina-Mihaila
9 years 6 months ago #400368 by garyrhook
The 24-70 will serve you reasonably well for almost everything. It will go short enough to cover most everything you need. The 18-55 is wider, but you likely will not need it.

As for lights, yes, opposite corners pointing at the ceiling. Get there early to test out how much power you need to get a reasonable amount of light. As for an on-camera flash, only if it's pointing up at all times. Never at your subject.

The downside of only having 70 mm is that you won't be able to get a candid shot without being close enough to be obvious. That's where the 70-200 becomes very convenient (he says, having learned from experience).

Photo Comments