What are good books to learn the basics??

12 years 10 months ago #79057 by Photo Plex
I'm really new to photography and want to read and learn as much as possible about general photography. Particularly aperture, shutter speed, ISO, etc...

Can anyone recommend some good books to help me along the way?

12 years 10 months ago #79061 by sunsusie
Understanding Exposure, was my first book. It's a wonderful book.

12 years 10 months ago #79063 by Photo Plex

sunsusie wrote: Understanding Exposure, was my first book. It's a wonderful book.

Thanks, who's the author?

12 years 10 months ago #79065 by Henry Peach
All the how-to books I learned on were film specific, and while the fundamentals remain the same I think it would be worth learning about them as they apply to the tools you are using. When I was making the switch from film to digital I found this website very helpful: www.cambridgeincolour.com/ They cover basics such as exposure and how the meter works in easy to read articles with examples, and go on to cover more advanced topics too.
12 years 10 months ago #79067 by sunsusie

Photo Plex wrote:

sunsusie wrote: Understanding Exposure, was my first book. It's a wonderful book.

Thanks, who's the author?

Bryan Peterson

12 years 10 months ago #79121 by denger

:agree: its a good book for getting an understandable explanation of exposure, aperture, shutter speed and ISO and how they all relate and link together. Note that most books for photography will cover this material as well in a general sense, but understanding exposure tends to give a more complete explanation than they do.

12 years 10 months ago #79131 by E note
Everything you need is available on the Internet. I would just google what you wanted to know and you'll find hundreds of articles to give you info.

I would save the book purchases for things like editing software. Example, you buy Photoshop elements, I'd buy a book so u can get the most out of it.

12 years 10 months ago #79141 by Armon Photos