Pilot starting to take pictures!

9 years 6 months ago #404902 by boine
Hey Photographers!

I am a newbie with a buying question.... Am on the lookout to get a new camera, but need some advice!

I'm looking to take pictures from a plane, I fly for a major European carrier.
Size matters, a system camera is too big to drag along.

I've been close of getting a Sony DSC-100 MKII, but then I got cold feet, not sure the lens has enough zoom capabilities...
Shooting good pictures from a plane probably means a good (exchangable?) zoom lens.

Other cameras I've been looking at are the Canon Powershot G1X MkII and the Panasonic Lumix GM1...

Any help on camera and lens highly appreciated!

Thanks from a Boeing bird.....

9 years 6 months ago #404906 by KCook
Hey, my father loved flying Boeing!  Anyways, as a "starter" I would suggest a Canon G16 or Fujifilm X20.  These are not the very latest models so it's possible to find some nice deals.  Try one of those for a while before deciding whether you really want the extra bulk of a M4/3 system camera.  Even if you do move on to larger cameras, one of these will continue to serve you very well as your casual camera.

Kelly Cook

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

9 years 6 months ago #404912 by Brad M
You didn't mention budget?  

9 years 6 months ago #404927 by boine
My budget is roughly USD900 or EUR700....

Thanks for the hints on cameras above, though do any of them come with interchangable lenses? If so, would be happy to recieve hints on what to look for... :)

9 years 6 months ago #404966 by KCook
No.  But you stated "Size matters, a system camera is too big to drag along".  Any camera with interchangeable lenses is considered to be a "system camera".  And the Sony RX100 does not have interchangeable lenses.

Kelly

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

9 years 6 months ago #404968 by boine