Robin

9 years 5 months ago #408214 by judiths expressions
img\def
hello would like some thoughts on my photo. I am new to this

9 years 5 months ago #408267 by icepics
I feel like it's in a little too close since the bottom of the robin isn't in the frame. At the top left there's the edge of something just along the frame; usually if I can't make out what something is it seems to be a distraction more than adding to the photo. 

Try to see everything in the viewfinder that's going to be in your picture, you want to notice the background along with the subject. Try looking thru the viewfinder and framing a shot before you start taking pictures to see how the background will look. Then you can move around and change your vantage point, depending on what you're photographing sometimes just a step or two or a few can make a difference.

I like that you happened to get the robin looking at the camera, you saw a good moment to try to capture. If you keep practicing that should help you continue to develop skills.

Sharon
Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: judiths expressions
9 years 5 months ago #408275 by garyrhook
The focus is off, also. I am guessing you were using a center focus point? The blue/gray feathers in front are crips, but nothing else is. In general you want the eyes in focus, so either move the camera (and zoom back to get everything into the shot) or use a different spot focus point.

And don't try so hard to put your subject smack in the middle of the frame. It's not interesting.

I, too, like that he was looking at you. It was a good moment.

Keep it up! Practice, practice, practice.

Photo Comments
9 years 5 months ago #408290 by judiths expressions
thank you for the comments, it was a opportune take as he just appeared whilst out on a walk, so it was bit of a point and shoot and see what happens photo.

9 years 5 months ago #408329 by JaneK
I like it, but would like a little bit cooler color tone

Photo Comments