Largest part of our nature in images

12 years 11 months ago - 12 years 11 months ago #45663 by JPM
Hi All,

I'm a Finnish amateur astrophotographer and a new member in this forum.
Night sky and universe are part of nature, actually a largest part of it!
Due the light pollution, people doesn't know it so well anymore.
I enjoy to be able to reveal even a small part of the hidden beauty of our Universe. Astro photographing is a mixture of technique, art and science and it's difficult enough to keep me interested. I hope you enjoy my images!

My portfolio: astroanarchy.zenfolio.com/
My Blog: www.astroanarchy.blogspot.com/

Some images
The "Pelican Nebula" in constellation Cygnus

IC 5070, the "Pelican Nebula", is an Hydrogen emission region associated with the North America Nebula in the constellation Cygnus. The nebula resembles a pelican in shape (in a large field image), hence the name. The Pelican Nebula is , close to Deneb, and divided from its brighter, larger neighbor, the North America Nebula, by a molecular cloud filled with dark dust. Distance is about 1800 light years.
More info in my Blog: astroanarchy.blogspot.com/2011/01/ic-507...-pelican-nebula.html
Total exposure time about 9h.
The "Bubble Nebula" in constellation Cassiopeia

This is one of the most interesting looking structures to me!
NGC 7635 aka "Bubble Nebula, Sh2-162 or Caldwell11, is a Hydrogen emission nebula in constellation Cassiopeia. It locates near the open cluster M 52 at distance of about 11.000 light years from the Earth.
The bubble structure is created by a strong stellar wind, a radiation pressure, from massive hot magnitude 8,7 central star, SAO 20575, it can be seen in an image inside of the bubble, off centered at Right.