Looking for Nikon D3100 lens buying advise

10 years 4 days ago #370779 by mattcollins
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to photography but am seriously addicted to it lol. Firstly what I currently have:

Camera
Nikon D3100:

Lens
18-55mm 
55-200mm

I'm looking for some advise on where to go next lens wise. I love nature photography, but also looking to dabble more in portrait photography

I was thinking of maybe looking at my next buy being either:

105mm macro lens (currently struggling to get any really good close up shots, can this be achieved with tubes?)
70-300mm lens (as great as I find the 55-200mm I still struggle to get good shots of animals etc more than 50m away)

For portraits I've heard a good lens may be a 50mm lens

Also another question, is it worth sticking to Nikon/Nikkor lens or can the Sigma etc be just as good but cheaper?

Being a complete beginner any advise, criticism etc would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks,

Matt

10 years 4 days ago - 10 years 4 days ago #370795 by effron
The modern 105 f/2.8 VR is a great lens and versatile, portrait and macro. If you decide on the 70-300, make sure its the newer VR model, which has as much bang for the buck as any lens,  the non VR is junk. Your choice, but if you stay with photography you'll eventually own them both anyway....;)

With those two lens ranges, I'd stick with the Nikons....

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
10 years 4 days ago #370817 by garyrhook
Tubes are a fine addition. There's a discussion thread here , and you can seem some recent shots in this thread .

I love my 105, and yes, it's great for portrait work. 50mm? Meh. If you want a wider aperture go for an 85 for portraits.

You might also consider a 24-70. Versatile, high quality. The Tamron would be a better choice than the Sigma, IMO, but the Nikon would be a first choice. I use an older Tamraon 28-75 (non-VR) and am perfectly happy with it. You just have to have good technique.