Nikon D300 or Nikon D3300 for first camera

8 years 11 months ago #438833 by TJ Pix
I'm new to photography and looking at two completely different cameras.  I was told a few months ago that the D300 (which is a used camera) was good camera to have.    I've also come across a Nikon D3300 that I can get new for about the same price.  This one has 24MP vs 12MP in the D300. 

Can you tell me which is a better buy please? 

8 years 11 months ago #438834 by Screamin Scott
I have a D300 & I also have a D7100 (24 mp).. I use them both. The D3300 is a base model DSLR & requires lenses with a built in focus motor in order to obtain auto focus. That limits you to the latest (& more expensive) lenses. The D300, while older technology, is an upscale body that can use the older AF lenses without the built in focus motors & can even use the older manual focus lenses & still have metering in manual & aperture priority modes. The D300 was Nikon's flagship (top of the line) in DX format at one point in time. If you do go with it, make sure it doesn't have too many shutter actuations (it's rated for about 150k IIRC) . KEH is a good outfit to buy used gear from...

Scott Ditzel Photography

www.flickr.com/photos/screaminscott/

Photo Comments
8 years 11 months ago #439974 by MM Images
:agree: with Scott, I'd go with the D300, it's a better camera IMO.  

Photo Comments
8 years 11 months ago #439990 by garyrhook
You're new to this. Don't pixel count. There's plenty of other, more important things to attend to.

Get the D300.

Photo Comments
8 years 11 months ago #440010 by Shadowfixer1
If you just want to snap some pictures, I say get the D3300. If you are looking at getting into photography as a serious hobby and learning the craft, get the D300. These are two different animals. The D300 is a professional quality piece of gear. The D3300 will produce nice images but the experience of shooting the images will be totally different.
8 years 11 months ago #440014 by tganiats