Are you more photographer than artist or more artist than photographer?

11 years 8 months ago #244385 by Ruby Grace
Have you thought about this before? Photographers are people that get out there and snap off shots right? Artist go out there and create art with their camera and more thought gets put into what the finished photo will look like. More planning would go into the artist's photo.

Does that make sense? It all made sense to me while I was driving earlier. I would say I was criticizing myself and categorized myself more as a photographer, but would like to work on becoming more of a artist with my camera. Boy I hope this makes sense to some of you, because this is getting deep! Creating more artwork out of each shot taken rather than just a photo.

Feel free to jump in!

Canon EOS 5D Mark II, 17-40mmL, 24-105mmL, 100-400mmL, 300mm f/4L IS, Sigma 12-24mm, 430EX, Extension tubes
Photo Comments
11 years 8 months ago #244403 by KCook
Erm, by your definition I am a photographer, not an artist. However, I would quibble with the "planning" requirement. There is such a thing as "found art". Which is mostly what photojournalism is about, and to some degree, the rest of photography. For more deep thoughts -

thediscerningphotographer.com/2010/02/02...ph-the-things-we-do/

neilvn.com/tangents/2010/02/03/alive-for-365-05/

sallywakelin.wordpress.com/category/photography/

shutterfinger.typepad.com/shutterfinger/...stvisualization.html

visionarywild.com/2011/10/08/photographing-with-purpose/

Kelly Cook

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

11 years 8 months ago #244420 by Joves
I am both as Kelly said. I do plan my shots and make the appropriate adjustments to try and get the effect I want, so I guess you would define that as the art side, but in the end I am still just shooting a photo.

11 years 8 months ago #244426 by Rob pix4u2
Shooting sports makes me a photojournalist. Hence a photographer. Photography is an art.