Disadvantage of using zooms for landscapes vs wide angle lenses

10 years 4 weeks ago #361495 by KenMan
Do many of you use zooms for landscape photography?  I'm not very technical and still a novice photographer so not sure what disadvantages would there be to using a zoom vs wide angle lens.  I'm speaking anything beyond the obvious with the amount of space you are able to fit into a single frame.

Photo Comments
10 years 4 weeks ago #361579 by effron
My current favorite landscape lens is a 16-35 f/4, which is a wide zoom. Not sure what you're asking?....:unsure:

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
10 years 4 weeks ago #361617 by garyrhook
Historically primes have been considered to have better image quality when compared to zoom lenses, and rightfully so. With current lenses, however, that "gap" no longer exists, or is at least quite narrow. The issues include barrel distortion, chromatic aberration, vignetting, and of course sharpness.

If your zoom is producing images your are happy with, carry on.

Photo Comments
10 years 4 weeks ago #361723 by KCook
Primes still have the advantage for large apertures.  But so long as you are Ok with f/3.5 or so, may as well go with a zoom.  Another IQ factor is flare, when shooting up-sun.  In theory the prime will resist flare better.  But once you are shooting really near the sun, then the prime will also flare.  At that point which lens will produce more attractive flare is not predictable, depends on the specific lens.

Kelly Cook

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

10 years 4 weeks ago #361743 by DSRay
What's a 'prime'?

10 years 4 weeks ago #361749 by KCook

DSRay wrote: What's a 'prime'?

Wut yer 4x5 uses :kmonst:

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

The following user(s) said Thank You: DSRay
10 years 4 weeks ago #361827 by Jim Photo
One of my favorite lenses to use with landscapes is a 70-200mm

Photo Comments
10 years 4 weeks ago #361833 by Scotty