What is the attraction to street photography?

9 years 6 months ago #399605 by Roger Lang
 I'm trying to understand the connection with street photography.   I have been spending more time shooting cityscapes, so I'm right there often in the thick of things.  I guess I'm struggling to see the appeal too street photography.  I mean I get the whole idea of getting photos of people in their natural form.  Either it's just my inexperience on the subject or I'm completely missing something here.  I know as photographers we all have our areas we enjoy to photograph.  I'd like to hear from those who enjoy street photography and learn what you find interesting about it.  Heck, I'm open to the idea that I'm completely new to street photography and might be missing the idea.   If that being the case, can someone pass on some pointers to get the ball moving? 

Photo Comments
9 years 6 months ago #399608 by Tuscan Muse
For me, street photography is a way of documenting life has it happens.  Street photographers are the historians of humanity, using images instead of words. There are two schools of thought in the street photography genre.  One school says that you must have a human in the image for it to be true street photography. Some do not feel that way and instead would include images without people.  Good images usually telll a story.  Street photography has some of the best stories waiting to be told.  

With street photography there is also the challenge of capturing strangers in an up close and personal way.  So, this type of photography is not for everyone.

Here is an excellent link to some street photography portfolios:

http://121clicks.com/tag/famous-street-photographers

Also, if you have not seen the documentary, Finding Vivian Maier, I recommend it. 
9 years 6 months ago #399671 by The Italian Guy