Who move from digital to medium format?

9 years 7 months ago #399723 by Thomas S
I have been saving up and would love to jump into a Mamiya or even a Hasselblad.  I have my old D300, so will need to buy all new gear.  I'm not a pro, so this jump will be for a healthy hobbyist addition satisfaction. 

I would like to hear from those that have shot with medium format.  Was it worth it? 

Photo Comments
9 years 7 months ago #399726 by garyrhook
You have a spare $15,000 for a hobby?  Sweet.

In another thread someone pointed out that the 36MP in a D810 was an unforgiving mistress. A medium format will be even more demanding.

That said, I'd love to have a medium format camera I hope someday to get there.

Photo Comments
9 years 7 months ago #399728 by Thomas S
I have saved up for over 3 years for this camera.  Spare nothing! ;)  Now that I'm getting closer, I'm just checking around to see what others thought.   

Photo Comments
9 years 7 months ago #399733 by Scotty

Thomas S wrote: I have saved up for over 3 years for this camera.  Spare nothing! ;)  Now that I'm getting closer, I'm just checking around to see what others thought.   

I've edited blad photos a lot. 

Unless you plan on dropping around 40-50k for an iq280 or a higher end blad, it's not worth it.  You most likely won't see a different unless you're using it high end commercial work, really high end landscape or fashion magazines. 

Most people that shoot with these cameras rent the camera for the shoot as they're too pricey for you get.

I'd say it's not worth it.  One of my buddies has an i280 currently and I don't think he's using it as much as he hoped he would.

Editing the files does take a lot of work, especially in sharpening and micro-contrast.

When the last candle has been blown out
and the last glass of champagne has been drunk
All that you are left with are the memories and the images-David Cooke.

Photo Comments
9 years 7 months ago #399810 by One Wish