Published

8 years 10 months ago #440233 by DacrimL
So a questions but first a short intro as to the how and why.

Some 3 -4 months ago I talked my way onto an airport where there was gliding taking place for picture purposes. I explained that I was an amateur photographer looking to expand my horizons. They welcomed me with open arms and have since invited me to come back at any time. 

Anyway whilst there one of the lady pilots posed for a few candid shots in return for an image or 2, which I willing supplied as well as some to the club. All involved were more than happy with the photos, so much so the young lady emailed me the other day to request permission for her photo to be allowed to be used in a statewide publication with the possibility of going country wide. I agreed to this with, the request that all credit was to go to me the photographer.

Q1......Is this a wrong way to go about getting pictures or getting known without cost?

8 years 10 months ago #440251 by No Show
Not at all, as long as you are getting recognition in the publication

D300| Nikkor 24-70mm 2.8 | Nikkor 70-200mm VR 2.8 | Nikkor 50mm 1.8 | Nikon 2x Teleconverter | Sigma 105mm 2.8 | Tokina 12-24
Photo Comments
8 years 10 months ago #440257 by garyrhook
petapixel.com/2015/05/02/exposure-now-le...r-for-photographers/

I would have asked what the publication was paying for use of the image.  Just for fun.

Photo Comments
8 years 10 months ago #440371 by Sandy Smith Photos
If it's a crappy site that no one but the owners will visit, no.  Big site, then yes

Photo Comments
8 years 10 months ago #440388 by Conner
+1

Photo Comments
8 years 10 months ago #440513 by DacrimL
To the best of my knowledge it is a pilots newsletter or something, most likely one of those nerdy things they put behind the seats in planes for reading. Not that it matters to me........I guess the more it gets out there the better the exposure

Thanks for the replies.