Is shooting in RAW really needed?

12 years 9 months ago #82167 by Slick Man
I'm no pro and it always takes up so much space, then I can only download the photos to my one computer that has the software to read the RAW files. I know you get more edit control with the RAW files, but if I don't do any professional photography and it's just me, will high resolution JPG be good?

I'd rather be shooting!
12 years 9 months ago - 12 years 9 months ago #82173 by Henry Peach
As long as you are getting what you want from the in-camera processing shooting with the camera set to jpeg is fine.
12 years 9 months ago #82185 by crystal
No raw is not really needed. So many people say shoot raw because it's the best, it's the digital negative, but in reality it's not really needed. Lets put it this way, if you are fine shooting jpeg and you have no need for raw, then don't shoot raw. Continue to have fun shooting on jpeg.
12 years 9 months ago #82189 by MLKstudios
There are pros who use JPEG. If I may recommend you get the white balance set perfectly though. That's something easily corrected in RAW, but is part of the image in JPEG.

www.photographytalk.com/photography-arti...tipusing-a-gray-card

HTH,

Matthew :)

Matthew L Kees
MLK Studios Photography School
www.MLKstudios.com
[email protected]
"Every artist, was once an amateur"

12 years 9 months ago #82191 by Johnnie
There has been much of talk concerning JPEG vs RAW Captures. I know many professionals who shoot JPEG only. I myself shoot both all depends on the subject matter etc. You can have some control over the photo's shot in JPEG when processing - just open as a RAW File and go from there.

12 years 9 months ago #82449 by Slick Man
OK, this makes sense to me. You guys are great! Thanks for the help here.

I'd rather be shooting!
12 years 9 months ago #82499 by Nikonjan
I have shot jpeg and raw together and everytime have thrown out the jpegs. I guess I like my raw control better.

www.betterphoto.com?nikonjan