What mode do you mainly shoot in?

13 years 2 months ago #24637 by mcc3d01
I'm pretty new to using a DSLR and I am still shooting on Auto. I know I need to learn how to shoot off Auto. So I was just wondering what do you mainly shoot in. M, S, A, P

13 years 2 months ago #24651 by BranCarr
I shoot in S mode.

13 years 2 months ago #24674 by Baydream
As I am walking around, I am usually in Auto mode since I never know what is going to pop up. Once I get the first shot, I determine which mode to use, usually either aperture or shutter priority. I took a workshop where the presenters claimed you should ALWAYS use Manual. Bet they miss a LOT of shots fiddling with settings. Manual is great IF you have time and your subject is static (like the Grand Canyon, a dead animal, or a crime scene).

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
13 years 2 months ago - 13 years 2 months ago #24678 by Screamin Scott
More often than not, I shoot in manual, sometimes in Program, but it depends on what type of shooting I'm doing...

Scott Ditzel Photography

www.flickr.com/photos/screaminscott/

Photo Comments
13 years 2 months ago #24688 by crystal
When I first started photography I shot in manual for a good year if not longer. It's how I learned. Then I shot in S mode, for a bit. Now I shoot mainly in Aperture. But if I am shooting anything that I want to freeze motion I shoot S or M.
13 years 2 months ago #24752 by Rob pix4u2
I primarily shoot in Manual mode or Shutter priority mode for sports, Aperture priority mode for portraits/weddings, Rarely Program unless it's a snapshot opportunity

Remember to engage brain before putting mouth in gear
Rob Huelsman Sr.
My Facebook www.facebook.com/ImaginACTIONPhotography

Attachments:
13 years 2 months ago - 13 years 2 months ago #25204 by Stealthy Ninja
A (Av) mode mainly.

I use:
M for shots I can take more time with or for constant lighting.