Getting a grasp on understanding what lenses you need? (beginner)

8 years 6 months ago #452425 by James F
Hey everyone,

So last week I shared that I'm new to photography.  I  was wondering today, how did you know what lenses to buy when you first got started?

I'm floored with how many options there are, and really good use your help.

Thank you 

Photo Comments
8 years 6 months ago #452451 by icepics
I started out with a 50mm prime lens, then a 135mm short telephoto. That's what I use a lot, it depends on what you like to take pictures of.

Probably once you get into it you'll start figuring out what else you need - what you realize you'd like to do but can't do with the first lens. I like a nice sharp prime lens, and don't like or use zooms, but some people like those.

Buying used has sometimes been a good option to get a decent lens at a good price. You can always later sell or trade in a lens to get another. KEH is reliable, and Adorama or B&H have used depts.

Sharon
Photo Comments
8 years 6 months ago #452477 by garyrhook
:agree:

Until you understand the exposure triangle, and depth-of-field, stick to the kit lens and work on learning. You will also, at the same time, gain an understanding of what you want to shoot. Subject matter has an affect on lens choice, too.

Yes, used, can be helpful. But you need to know what you want and why first. And you need to get your camera out of auto mode.

Photo Comments
8 years 6 months ago #452488 by Patrick G
Do you know areas of photography interest you?

Photo Comments
8 years 6 months ago #452531 by Robert Hardy
Completely depends on what you enjoy shooting.

Aside from some all good around lenses:

50mm, 70-200, and 105mm

Photo Comments
8 years 6 months ago #452649 by MM Images
Oh I agree, 70-200mm is a must have in every camera bag

Photo Comments
8 years 6 months ago - 8 years 6 months ago #452659 by Screamin Scott