Novice - Blown Out Manual Photos

4 years 10 months ago #648064 by drake32
Hi all - I'm a novice photographer and usually shoot on automatic, but I'm working to learn manual. My camera is an Olympus e-m5 Mark II. I'm having an issue that I just can't seem to figure it out on my own and it's really starting to ruin my enjoyment shooting. My photos often seem to have a bluish hue to them. I did some research and read it was a white balance issue. I think I corrected that, but my photos are still blown out. As you'll see in my two photos the ISO, aperture and shutter speed are the same, but the photo shot in automatic is much more vibrant and detailed, whereas the manual photo is blown out. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Any help or tips would be much appreciated! Thank you!

Attachments:
4 years 10 months ago - 4 years 10 months ago #648067 by Nikon Shooter

drake32 wrote: My photos often seem to have a bluish hue to them. I did some research and read it was a white balance issue.

I guess this was only an Auto WB setup.

drake32 wrote: … my photos are still blown out. As you'll see in my two photos the ISO, aperture and shutter speed are the same, but the photo shot in automatic is much more vibrant and detailed, whereas the manual photo is blown out.

What you ignored to read is that there is a EV +3 applied
to the second take. I would suggest you tweak down the
EV to -3 and see what comes out of it! Have a good time!

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
4 years 10 months ago #648133 by KCook
Program mode can be an easier starting place than Manual mode.

My E-M5 (original) pushes red instead of blue. In Auto mode the WB is stuck on Auto. But in the PASM modes I use Daylight WB instead of Auto. Check that the color adjustments are all centered. Also, the Mark II has a fancy color profile control that my model lacks. Check that it has not been messed with (or just reset it).