Taking photos using lights

4 years 8 months ago #651847 by Rhonda-Clifton
First off I'm not a professional photographer, and so would appreciate some help.
I take photos of pottery, as that is my hobby.  I recently bought two photography lights on eBay.  They work extremely well with matt glazed pottery.  However, on gloss glazes I can see the lights reflected in the glaze.
I made a light box hoping that may solve the issue, but it hasn't.  The quality of the photos is less than desired - as in there are still shadows in the background, even after I edit to remove them.
So can you give me any suggestions on how I can get good photos of gloss glazed pieces without the lights showing as two bright rectangles.
BTW at the moment I have the lights at 90d from the front of the piece I'm trying to get a shot of.
If I use the light box, do I need a top light?  Would that help?  Or any suggestions at all as to getting the best shots. 
Thank you in anticipation.

4 years 8 months ago #651849 by Nikon Shooter
Could you show an example shot and a backup shot?

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
4 years 8 months ago #651850 by Rhonda-Clifton
Thank you for your very quick response.  I was a bit surprised, as I'm in Australia, so we have 18 hours time difference.

#1 Matt glazed, using lights, backdrop white card
#2 Gloss glazed, using lights, backdrop white card - lights very visible
#3 Semi gloss, using lights and light box, backdrop white card - lights still visible
#4 As 3, before any edit.
Make: FUJIFILM
Model: FinePix S4800
ISO: 200
Aperture: f/3.1
Shutter speed: 1/56 sec
Captured: Wed, 10 Jul 2019 10:03am
ISO: 64
Shutter speed: 1/42 sec
Captured: Tue, 16 Jul 2019 9:51am

Shutter speed: 1/60 sec
Captured: Sat, 3 Aug 2019 19:52pm

Shutter speed: 1/45 sec
Captured: Tue, 16 Jul 2019 7:56am

Attachments:
4 years 8 months ago #651971 by fmw