Mirrorless or DSLR camera for beginner?

4 years 8 months ago #652636 by Chase Sanders
I don't have a camera yet.  Well nothing besides by iPhone at least.  To help point my search in the best direction, which is best for beginner photographers, mirrorless or DSLRs?

*From a learn curve standpoint?

Chase

4 years 8 months ago #652637 by garyrhook
Define "best"?

The best camera is the one you don't want to put down.

The question also involves budget, as your entry point for either system is going to be north of (US) $500.

As a beginner, I would suggest that you use your phone and a RAW app, and learn to manage the exposure triangle first. Then graduate to an interchangeable lens system.

If you have the choice, go to a store and hold different cameras, play with them, see what makes sense and feels good in your hands. Explore the features, figure out what the candidates are, and research those on the web to find out what people think.

In addition, you'll be buying into a system, so you might need to understand how that looks in the future.

There's no simple answer to your question, but for a few $ (if your phone supports it) you can gets started today on learning more.

Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: Joao Rodrigues
4 years 8 months ago #652640 by Shadowfixer1
Mirrorless or DSLR doesn't matter. They both generally operate the same way and do the same thing. The big advantage to mirrorless is you see the exposure before you make the image and don't have to wait till afterwards to see the exposure. Size can be smaller with mirrorless. Notice I said can be.
4 years 8 months ago #652643 by Chase Sanders

garyrhook wrote: Define "best"?

The best camera is the one you don't want to put down.

The question also involves budget, as your entry point for either system is going to be north of (US) $500.