Beginner

3 years 10 months ago #686536 by Ashtyn
Hello, 

I am new to the photography world! I have had my camera for almost 7 years and I hard touch it. When I do pick it up I love it but I want to learn more. I am not sure what way would be ideal. I have thought about going back to school for it. Or are online courses ideal. 

Just looking for tips. I guess its a personal choice riight, any input would be nice. I have friends in the photography world but I always feel like a bug asking them for help! 

Thanks ! :)

3 years 10 months ago #686562 by fmw
Check out a couple digital photography beginners books from the library then go make some photos.

Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ashtyn
3 years 10 months ago #686564 by Nikon Shooter
… and, maybe, post them! :P

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
3 years 10 months ago #686570 by garyrhook
Find a local photo walk, and get out there.

Find a local group, and get involved.

Ask one of your friends to go shooting. They'll likely jump at the chance. Passionate photographers love to talk about photography, and love to help others learn.

Photo Comments
3 years 10 months ago #686573 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Ashtyn

and as someone with over 40 years as an adult-education tutor ....
try your local Adult-ed community college for a 6-week to 10-week course in general "camera usage and photographic techniques" ~ you will find others there just like you, and they will also have prac sessions and excursions

Hope this helps
Phil from the great land Downunder
www.flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

Phil from the great land Downunder
www.flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

3 years 10 months ago #686578 by 7Wishes
YouTube is a good place to look. 

3 years 10 months ago #686819 by Ashtyn
haha yes! I just worry that my stuff isn't as good as someone who takes photos on their iPhones. But, I guess that's the first step too, being confident in my own work ! (: