Blurry Pictures

3 years 7 months ago #694403 by Fernando-Constantino
Hello everyone!

First of all, it's my very first post here - although I'm a DSLR hobbyist since 2010. I'm quite used with the settings for Rebel (my previous one was T1i - passed away when I was trying to get a good shot over a slippery stone on a river shore). Now I use a T3i with the stock 18-135mm kit.

I noticed that even from the beginning the photos weren't as good (in focusing) as the ones I had with my T1i 18-55mm. This is a second-hand kit that had probably 20k+ shots before me (now close to 50k). I have already sent the camera to an official repair shop for a general cleanup and check-up and it was retrieved with the status 'fine'.

I use to take pictures using the viewfinder + MF, but I also tried using the display + AF and the results are quite similar (it takes a bit longer to lock but it locks).

It keeps blurring in a strange way (like depth of field + reflection) and I'd like some help to figure out what's happening. The following pictures were taken without any physical filter attached to the lens.

1/400 f/5.6 ISO100

1/1250 f/5.6 ISO100

1/1000 f/5.6 ISO100

1/160 f5.6 ISO100

1/1000 f/5.6 ISO100

3 years 7 months ago #694410 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Fernando

Firstly - Welcome to the PT photo forum ... there are plenty of others here with lots of experience and a willingness to help others

Okay - to your camera and the pics ~ and the exposure setting are most helpful

Q- what type of focus point is the camera set to?? ... spot / centre / matrix ???

re the pics
#1 - seems acceptable focus - esp the building at the lower left (but without knowing the focus settings it is hard to know what the camera thought you were actually shooting)

#2 - the dogs are in focus but their rapid movement has caused the blur - I use 1/2000s ~ 1/4000s for animals on the move