How to get Black and whites to pop better

9 years 10 months ago #180825 by tkguess
I use Lightroom mostly and if I boost the contrast to make it crisper I lose details. I am not good at black and white. What subjects are best in black and white?

TK
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

9 years 10 months ago #180946 by Rathers
The two photos you posted are awesome in B&W. :judge: B&W photos is about contrast. Is the subject set apart from the rest of the shot? If so, usually it will look good in B&W.

9 years 10 months ago - 9 years 7 months ago #181060 by icepics
I haven't done B&W digital but a good bit of film and darkroom. I see what you mean, maybe it's the software, or your camera settings need some adjustment.

Usually when I'm shooting B&W I try to notice if there's some contrast in the scene, that everything isn't the same shade so your photo has some dark and light and not all mid-grays.

Sharon
Photo Comments

9 years 7 months ago - 9 years 7 months ago #205607 by Arkangel7x3