Square format : "Fishing for hopes" any advise or critique to improve please?

11 years 1 month ago #275198 by Marte
Hi people , I am new to the forum and long time obsessed with B&W´s .
Any opinions on this pic?
It was taken in Taiwan but I have been a self taught so at a technical level I am still wearing diapers and I would love it if you can criticize it as hard and picky as you can (It´s my only way to learn , so please don´t have any mercy :thx2: ).

Title is "Fishing for hopes"

Cheers!
M.

Attachments:
11 years 1 month ago #275222 by John Landolfi
The image works for me. The strong contrast and detail in the sky and sea are a nice foil for the silhouetted foreground and human figure. Do you always title your photos?

Photo Comments
11 years 1 month ago #275223 by Marte
Hi John:

I try to give a "feeling" to the ones I print so some of them have a title (feel free to :rofl: ). haha! ;)
This one is a 1x1mts on canvas and it is on my living room after an exhibit.

Does anyone else do that here? or should I just post the images and shut up? :P

I´d like to think that an image must give a feeling or inspire a thought.

Thanx.

11 years 1 month ago #275225 by garyrhook
Generally, when seeking comments or critiques, it's probably best to ask specific questions. Which is what you did.

I like the image, the square format works well, and the composition is interesting. I don't know if you darkened/dodged the sky at all, but it looks like you did. I'd like to see more detail in the upper right and left areas.

Overall, however, I find this to be successful.

Photo Comments
11 years 1 month ago #275229 by KCook
Square is rare. It's fun to see a good square composition. Dunno why the sky is so dark on the right side - I would like to see that relieved a little, somehow.

Kelly Cook

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

11 years 1 month ago #275538 by Marte
Hi guys