Canon EOS RP - have you used?

4 years 2 months ago #673057 by amatula
Hi!

I was in the camera store yesterday and the salesperson showed me the EOS RP. I loved the handing! It felt great in my hands (with the 35 mm lens) and I was amazed at how steady I held it.

I am upgrading from the Canon SL1 significantly for better low light performance/photo detail. I am primarily a landscape photographer (~ 70%) and travel photographer.

I already have a 24 mm F/2.8 EF IS lens which I love and can use for now.

I am leaning towards this camera as full-frame DSLRs are huge in my hands, and since most of my photography is done while hiking and traveling. I know it is not weather sealed (bummer) but I can accept that trade-off (vs carrying a heavy full frame with weather-sealing). But I am also considering higher end APS-C cameras with weather-sealing (Sony A6500, Nikon 5600 which the salesperson also showed me, ...) 

If you have used the RP, I'd love to hear your thoughts on landscape (I am not interested in video) and anything you wish to share.

Thank you and all the best,
Annie

Photo Comments
4 years 2 months ago #673491 by effron

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: amatula
4 years 2 months ago #673738 by amatula
Thank you!

It seems I read often that Canon sensors fall behind other models with dynamic range, so no surprise there.

Do you feel it is an issue (per the article)? I don't (yet!) understand dynamic range response) but think I get the gist of it that they are saying the RP won't capture as much detail in the shadows as the other cameras listed. I will ask the store clerk to take some shots outside the store to see how the detail is in the shadows.