Canon wide angle options- Which would you pick?

4 years 2 months ago #674772 by Benalpha30
   First I'll share the somewhat interesting needs I hope to fill with just one lens. I am a wildlife and landscape painter, and my current photography setup is a 7D MarkII and the Canon 100-400 L II- obviously this is great for shooting animals, but the next need I have is a good landscape lens to take reference shots for paintings. I don't need ultra wide angle necessarily, just a good performer overall.
   The second need I have is a lens to photograph my paintings. I create fine art prints from these photos, so this is where I need a lens that will be sharp from edge to edge, and have minimal distortion and vignetting. I can fix some issues during editing, but the better the lens' performance the more time it will save me. 
   I am hoping to find a lens that can fill both of these needs. I definitely appreciate weather sealing, but that isn't a deal breaker. I also occasionally shoot video or low light, so IS would also be useful but not a deal breaker. I've researched and come up with the following. Which would you pick?
Are there others I haven't listed that you would recommend more?

Canon EF 24mm f/2.8 IS USM- looks to have pretty good optics, but some say it's overpriced
Canon EF-s 24mm f/2.8 STM- inexpensive and made for APS-C. Optics okay but lacks some features
Canon 17-40mm f/4 L- Good price for L lens- Uses same filter size as my other. I've read some 
                                      mediocre reviews on sharpness which is what I need for art photography
Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM- Not an L lens but supposedly very sharp and good                                                                                     performance for the money
Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L IS- Probably more than I want to spend on this lens, even used, but I read                                                     it's a great lens and would probably fill both needs well