Need advices about what gear to purchase

1 year 6 months ago #595642 by Tony HD
Hello, I'm a musician and I need to purchase a camera + lens for guitar videos production.

Here is my benchmark, I'd like my videos to get close to this look:

I know there is a post production job here (color grading) but what's the basis to achieve this look?
Any advice is welcome! Thank you.

(I already own a pair of softboxes + old Sony Handycam but this one is technically outdated).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 6 months ago #595644 by Tony HD
Here is a "rawer" version of my reference model, apparently same shooting equipment but no post production work. Maybe that's help.

1 year 6 months ago #595988 by Tony HD
Advice anyone?

1 year 6 months ago #596005 by garyrhook
It's hard to say. There's clearly a very short focal length at work; could be a mobile phone for all we know, with good micing.

We use a Panasonic GH7 for video recording, and I've been very, very happy with it. Excellent quality and imaging for what we need. And no limit when recording in HD. Works as a fine mirrorless system for stills, too.

One thing I see here is pretty even lighting, with the source at camera upper right. Probably a very large softbox? hard to know.  If you haven't considered lighting, I'd suggest starting there. If you have a friend that's a photographer, ask for some assistance.

Finally, why don't you write to the guy and ask him? Worst case, you get ignored. but he just might be willing to share his setup with you.

Photo Comments

1 year 6 months ago #596025 by Tony HD
Hey Gary thank you for this helpful comment.
I agree about the lighting + lighting orientation, I just bought softboxes a couple days ago and Im just starting experimenting with them.

(For some reason I can't write to him)

1 year 6 months ago #596043 by garyrhook