Advice for first camera

5 years 2 months ago #628865 by midor
Hi together,

I am an inexperienced amateur photographer and would like to raise my
photographic level somewhat. My interest in photography lies in the comparison
of historical vs. current cityscapes (i.e., looking for old photos and
postcards and then taking pictures from the same, contemporary perspective to
show the development, so-called "refotography").
At the moment I use a simple digital camera (Canon PowerShot A2200HD). I do not
have very high expectations because I am less concerned with the artistic
aspect of the photos. However, I notice that in less than ideal lighting
conditions with my current camera, I often reach some limits in image quality
and would like to have a higher image quality. I would therefore like to invest
in a slightly more professional camera and need some advice to find my way
around in the huge range of types of cameras.

I illustrate by two photos attached in which aspects I would like to improve
the image quality:
- in areas of darker light conditions in the first photo (IMG_3507), the picture looks blurry and "grainy"when you zoom in a bit
- towards the edges, the first picture looks curvy, I would like to have a larger
area in which the picture is without this bend
- even where there are good lighting conditions (second photo IMG_3511), the photo is a bit "garish" and grainy if you zoom in,which I’m unable to correct through (my modest knowledge of) image editing

I am less or not at all interested in things like strong zoom, close-ups,
nighttime shots or motion. I just want a camera that makes the images cleaner
and in higher resolution, even in less favorable lighting conditions. If
possible, the camera should be in the lower price segment, say up to 300 €. If
no significant improvement in this segment would be possible I would also
consider investing more (but I might also find a cheaper used camera). An SLR