Upgrading

4 years 11 months ago #642396 by MW
Hey all! So first off I am new to this site/forum. Secondly I am just looking for some help deciding on what to upgrade to. I currently have a Nikon D3200 and I use a Tameron zoom lens currently. I am totally okay with switching brands. Here's a list of things that I do-
- Nature photography
- Close ups/macro (flowers,bugs) 
- Birds (fast moving objects)
- I need something that can get good, close pictures from a distance so if I cant get super close to say a perched bird or a bear in the distance. (lens wise). 

I am 100% self taught and most defiantly am a beginner. I have a small budget so nothing insanely expensive. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 

4 years 11 months ago #642659 by garyrhook
Magnification and budget conflict with each other.

If you want to do nature photography (i.e. animals) from a distance, your entry point for the lens is $1100 (-ish). Tamron and Sigma make a zoom that runs 150mm - 600mm. Nikon makes a 200mm-500mm. All are decent lenses.

A newer body will buy you lower noise, but not many more pixels. There are other features you should explore on the Nikon site.

You don't say what your budget is, so I'll say this: buy used and you can save money. As for macro, you can get far using tubes, with a modest macro lens. The Tamron 90mm is a fine macro.

The great thing about Nikon is that you can use any DX or FX lens on your camera, and postpone a newer body. Always buy the best glass you can afford, and buy full frame glass if you think you'll ever consider an FX body.

Just sayin'.

Photo Comments

• Facebook

817,251 / Likes

• Twitter

241,000 / Followers

• Google+

1,620,816 / Followers

Latest Reviews

The Canon EOS R100 is an entry-level mirrorless camera introduced in 2023. But just because it’s an entry-level camera doesn’t mean it’s a bare-bones camera. Find out why in this review!

Apr 22, 2024