Camera or lens?

4 years 10 months ago #646127 by kevinnylen2002
Hello! New to the forum and am looking for feedback/advice. 

I am considering either a new lens or a new camera for an upcoming trip to the Rockies, Grand Tetons, and Yellowstone. 
I currently have a Nikon D7000 and my main lens is a 17-55 2.8. I know that I will need more reach in the mountains, especially for wildlife. I can get a refurbished Nikon 200-500 (or similar superzoom). Or I could get a bridge camera/superzoom.  I understand that there are plusses/minuses to each. What do you all think?

I'm a seasoned amateur in terms of my skills/ability, in case anyone is wondering. 

Thanks in advance. 

4 years 10 months ago #646131 by Nikon Shooter
Welcome Kevin! :P

The refurbished Nikon 200-500 is a very good
possible option!

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
4 years 10 months ago #646143 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Kevin

Also a "Welcome" to the forum ... you'll find us a keen mob of 'togs who are willing to 'confuse' you with the best advice :)

Seriously -- as NS says the big nikon zoom is an excellent lens for wildlife work
The part of the question you have also asked about 'bridge camera-superzoom' is what I will respond to ~ as I use them all the time

There are plenty of advantages - and a few disadvantages - with the choice & use of a small-sensor camera and only you can decide if it will work for you.  For me, I have used Fuji + Canon + Olympus + Panasonic superzooms and settled on Panasonic, specifically the FZ-300 in current models.  Panny have IMO been particularly smart in restricting the sensor to 12mpx to minimise unnecessary noise, and the 24x zoom lens - in film-camera terms covers the 24mm to 600mm range. It also makes a big difference in that the lens is a 'constant-aperture' lens which does not stop down the aperture while zooming ~ a feature usually found only on expensive, dSLR pro lenses