Buying into an Ecosystem and need Advice

4 years 7 months ago #657665 by rask4p
Hi Everyone!

I'm about to step up my game and get into a mirrorless body with no prior glass commitments.  I'm a hobbyist, but I love photography and want to be able to get more camera than I can currently use and grow into it.  My budget is ~$1.5k and while that puts me in a certain bracket, I want to make it clear, I will almost certainly stay in the same ecosystem forever as this will almost certainly always be a hobby.  Given that, I've got two real categories, APS-C or Full Frame, that will define my photos forever, but as a hobbyist I don't know how to get into full frame bodies without breaking the bank.  I expect to accumulate glass over the years and will likely budget $300-800 per year for new gear and I'm at a loss as to whether the initial choice of a crop or a full frame.

As a side note, I'm likely looking at the Sony line, because I think the auto focus they have will give me the best results as I grow and, while they strike me as a company with bad customer service, they seem to have a superior product at the moment.  In the past I have used Nikon glass in other optic applications, but regardless, I will welcome advice on the mount as well as the sensor!

Thanks!

4 years 7 months ago #657738 by garyrhook
Personally, I think it's too early to get into the Nikon or Canon mirrorless systems. And either of them will set you back most of your budget for the body alone. Sony has offerings that fit your budget.

I know plenty of folks that have gone with Sony, and are happy.

What you really need to do is go to a camera store and hold the candidates. You need to use them, check out their menus and how the operate, and feel them. The camera you want is the one you can't put down. All of the choice have good glass (it's really a matter of budget there, too) so IMO that's a non-issue. And some systems allow for adapters for 3rd-party lenses. There are options.