from APS-C to full-frame

4 years 3 months ago #671028 by amatula
Hi!
I have had a Canon Rebel SL1 with a 24 mm F2.8 IS lens which I use predominantly for landscape and next, travel.

I love it, but I have thought to upgrade to full-frame so I can capture more shadow areas and more detail.

I have a chance to purchase a used Canon 5D Mark II camera from a camera store where I live for $6oo.  It is heavy I acknowledge and older but I do not feel I need the "latest and greatest."

I am thinking too a F2.8 zoom lens in the range of 15 - 85 would be just what I need.

But I am also a travel photographer so don't really want to haul around heavy/bulky gear traveling and hiking and wondering if there are any other options available for full-frame (or mirror).

And because I travel, I don't want to spend the money full the best/most professional cameras (but I would buy high quality used from a camera store).

If you have a camera (any manufacturer!) and lens that you love for travel and landscape (with image stabilization), can you share, along with the lens?

Thank you for your time and happy New Year!
Annie

Photo Comments
4 years 3 months ago #671042 by garyrhook
Budget?

You are correct that a larger sensor will help get more detail in the extremes of the dynamic range. But frankly, a used Nikon D700 would be a better choice than the 5D mk II (and both are heavy). And if your budget is modest, your only choice for mirrorless with larger sensors is Sony. Otherwise, you're looking at micro four thirds, where there are a lot of choices there in both bodies and lenses.

You don't need an f/2.8 lens for landscapes, and you hardly need it for travel. f/4 would, with a decent body, get you everything you need, excepting dark environments.

Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: amatula
4 years 3 months ago #671126 by amatula
Thank you, Gary,
I appreciate the reply.