I would like some help choosing my first camera

3 years 11 months ago #683154 by Apprentice
Hello everyone, I'd love some help in the decision-making process of buying my first camera. I started studying photography recently and I want to buy a camera to practice everything that I'm learning. I want a camera that has a great quality in the realm of portrait photography.

I don't know much about what exactly do I need in the technical aspectsof a camera(Obviously what makes a great photo is a great photographer, but I'm just talking about the technical stuff like dynamic range, sensor size and such)  to achieve a gorgeous looking portrait(with lots of details and sharpness) without going into the Full Frame world.

My budget is somewhere in the price range of a sony a6400 or a canon 80d (which are actually two cameras that I'm considering purchasing right now), and I'm going to use the camera to record videos as well, so that's a factor to consider.

I don't know if I should go with a DSLR or a Mirrorless camera considering the fact that I'm going in the direction of becoming a professional photographer in the future. If there is a professional portrait photographer or an expert that could help me with this decision it would be amazing.

The cameras that I am considering in the moment are the following: Sony a6400, Canon 80D, Canon M50, Canon SL2, Canon SL3, and a Nikon D7100.

Finally, I would like to thank everyone that will be helping me in advance, you're awesome. :lol:  

3 years 2 months ago #708408 by TCav