4x6 inch (A6) printing - Canon PIXMA PRO-10S?

5 years 3 months ago #621915 by Tonio-Lombardi
Hello,First post here I'm a pro photographer working on weddings/commercial work. I do a lot of 4x6inch prints to deliver along with my weddings and I'm currently looking into if it makes sense to start to print my own prints. I primarily want to upgrade the prints I deliver to fine art mat paper rather than traditional silver halide paper. I am looking at the Canon Pixma PRO-10S printer and pre-cut A6 sized matt fine art paper (around 200gsm - 10mil thickness). I know these printers produce good quality prints and have read some reviews but I cannot find specific information pertaining to my intended use. I print around 80 4x6inch prints per wedding (around 25 a year), but I would also like to occasionally do larger prints.I would like to know if anyone has a similar use for printers like these? Would this printer accept a stack of 50 or more 4x6 inch 200gsm paper, would it be able to handle it? Does it make sense long term? I have done some initial rough costings and it seems that the cost per print would be a bit more expensive than a standard silver halide print which I am ready to pay to increase the quality. Do you guys think this makes sense? Are there any better options?Thanks,Tonio

5 years 3 months ago #622020 by garyrhook
I have an Epson 3880, and no regrets. First, ink is pigment based, which is far superior to dye. The Pro-10 appears to be pigment based as well.

As for media, hard to say with that printer. I can't find photos of the backside and how paper is managed, but it appears to use a rear feeder system. Thicker paper means less media in the bin. Do some googling to see what folks say about paper handling.

Also, those tanks are small, so you'll want to keep a supply handy every time you start a print cycle.

Higher quality paper with pigment inks means archival quality prints. You can bump up your prices for that.

That' all I got.

Photo Comments