Why computer is worked when using Exposure X4?

4 years 6 months ago #659716 by Juan Anthony
I'm new to this software, as I was trying to find alternative to Lightroom.  I like the workflow of things in it.  Just don't like how every time I open it, my MacBook Pro works harder with the computer heating up and fans cranking away. 

Is this just a heavier program to run?  

Photo Comments
4 years 6 months ago #659977 by Camera Diva
What size are your images or where is your library located?  

At the beginning of time there was absolutely nothing. And then it exploded! - Terry Pratchett
Photo Comments
4 years 6 months ago #660006 by ebyelyakov
Alternative to Lr - try Capture One. It is lightweight and fast and does do much more. I moved what 4-5 years ago and Lr is just a bad dream from my past. The C1 comes with 30 days trial (unless they changed something) so it is painless to try.

Where many people stumble is they try to use C1 as Lr unwilling to unlearn-relearn. And well, if fish is judged by its ability to fly it makes a bad bird. C1 has an awesome YouTube channel, make use of it. For anyone coming from Lr I'd recommend watching their webinar called along the lines "Sessions vs Catalogues".

4 years 6 months ago #660080 by garyrhook

ebyelyakov wrote: Alternative to Lr - try Capture One. It is lightweight and fast and does do much more. I moved what 4-5 years ago and Lr is just a bad dream from my past. The C1 comes with 30 days trial (unless they changed something) so it is painless to try.

Good advice, except that the question isn't about LR, it's about Exposure X4. Not the same thing. And suggesting someone change products, when that doesn't really address the question, doesn't seem terribly helpful. IMNSHO, of course.

Photo Comments
4 years 6 months ago #660085 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Juan

I do not know the software you are referring to - but I am also a laptop user exclusively