Need photo printer advise

3 years 11 months ago #681721 by David Dettman
Hello, I just signed up here today.  I'm ready to pick up a decent photo printer.  Not even sure where to start with my printer selection process.  I have done some Google searches and found that Canon and Epson seem to have the most photo printers.  I stopped there and figured I would track down a good photo community and just see which printer other photographers are using.

Which are you using and would you buy it again?  

Thank you 

David

3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #681726 by garyrhook
Hello, and welcome. Let's get to it:

Budget?
Maximum size of print you require/desire? (Width)
Dye or pigment?

Photo Comments
3 years 11 months ago #681730 by Shadowfixer1
Without having the criteria Gary mentioned, I will say that I use the Canon Pixma Pro 100. I've been printing my own stuff for 20 years and it is the best printer I have owned to date. Printing has changes a lot during that time. They sometimes run a rebate on the Pro 100 that make the printer almost free. That is the way I got mine. Epson makes a good printer also but my past experience is they suffer more clogs than the Canon but take that with a grain of salt since my Epson experience was some time ago. I still have the Epson 2200. If you answer some of Gary's query, we can better assist you.
3 years 11 months ago #681733 by David Dettman
Budget under $1250 and as I can see in that price range, 17" wide prints is what I'll get.  Other items, are open to discussion.  Again, this is my first photo printer and just trying to get a sense of what is mostly used by others to help sway my decision. 

Thank you

3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #681734 by Shadowfixer1