do you have the digital photo professional 4 software.

4 years 9 hours ago #683020 by keith1955
Up to now I have only used this software to shrink a photos memory size.
I mentioned somewhere on a forum that I took a lot of photos in monochrome and somebody said I would be better off staying in colour and use the canon software to turn them into monochrome.

Can somebody give me an idiot guide ,  ( step by step ) on how to do this with the software.

Thanks in advance

4 years 9 hours ago #683023 by garyrhook
I think you were misinformed. Why is color "better"?

If you want to create B&W JPGs, then rock on. You don't mention what type of camera you have, but if it's a DSLR, you can probably take RAW+JPG, leave the JPGs in B&W, and still have the RAW file (which isn't color... it's just data... and requires post-processing to make any image, color or otherwise).

That said, do what works for you.

Photo Comments
4 years 8 hours ago #683030 by keith1955
Hi garyhook , I am a newbie to hi tech camera gear , just before virus lockdown I treated myself to a canon 90d and 4 different canon lenses , I had been planning to get them eventually but after loosing a few close friends I thought you never know when your time is up so stuff the cost !

I am experimenting with the different modes and lens but at the moment only in my garden.

As of yet I have not tried raw but as somebody recently said , trial and error only cost time not money.

I am due to go on a " get off auto " course but due to current lockdown that is on hold.

4 years 6 hours ago #683049 by garyrhook
Understood.

Note: RAW and auto are two separate things. The former is about file format, nothing more. The latter is about controlling your camera (and thus exposure).

So, for clarity: you say you're shooting in B&W? Does that mean that you are using a scene (SCN) mode, the "grainy black & white"?