Best quality external hard drive for photo storage?

13 years 5 months ago #5166 by Monti Leehsu
One more question. I've been storing my photos a combination on my local hard drive and DVD's and would like to have everything one place and NOT on my local hard drive. What is the best quality external hard drive on the market? I'm not looking for the cheapest as I want some piece of mind my photos will be safe and secure.

Photo Comments
13 years 5 months ago #5170 by cbartlett800
Well, being that I am a programmer and a geek by trade, I will go with the cheaper ones that I find. I do, however, tend to stick with Western Digital since they have always outlasted any other brand that I have had in the past. I like their passport drives since they are powered by USB, and are quite small, though they are slower to copy/retrieve data because of that.

I would however always say to make multiple copies of all your pictures. I keep all my photos on my local hard drive and once month or so, I copy them over to 2 different hard drives. I have had too many hard drives fail in the past to keep one copy of anything important on them. It tends to start taking up a lot of room, but space is getting so cheep these days that it almost does not matter.

If you are not looking for something portable then I would suggest something like this . That is just the case, and it may seem pricey, but you will have less worry about any one drive failing, as these systems always keep a mirror of each drive. You just have to take into consideration that for every Tera byte of data you will loose about 200-300 GB of data for it to mirror itself, and each drive can be hot swapped in these!

13 years 5 months ago #5180 by Screamin Scott