Photographing a CRT Oscilloscope Screen Outdoors under shade

4 years 6 months ago #658785 by BlurredLines
Hi!
First, let me say that I found your tutorials on photography among the best on the Internet. Thank you for providing those they are of great help.

I am an absolute beginner to photography. 2 weeks ago I didn't know what ISO, f stop and shutter speed meant. After reading your tutorials, I'm at least somewhat familiar now with those.

So today I was trying to photograph the face of an anolog oscilloscope to capture the waveform moving across it's screen (CRT) with a refresh rate of approximately 100ms

I was outdoors but in the shade under a tarp canopy. Bright sunshine.

The problem I encountered today was with Brightness. I had a very difficult time finding a combination of settings that gave me a dark enough image. I ended up with the following settings....ISO 80, f8.0, 1/30 shutter speed.
The camera was approximately 18 inches from the screen. I tried normal and macro modes.

This is a Canon SX20is Digital camera.

I found it very difficult to get the image dark enough. I ended up draping a towel over the subject and the camera just to get it down to a reasonable light level. I could not understand this.

Since the CRT image was refreshing at approximately 100ms I tried to set the camera shutter speed to just below 1/10 of a second, but adjusting the shutter speed any lower than 1/30 cause the image to be over bright and wash out.

The lowest ISO for this camera is 80. Smallest aperture setting is F8.0

Did I do something obviously wrong? Or is this simply a limitation of the camera?

Thanks in advance.
Randy

4 years 6 months ago #658809 by garyrhook
You're trying to deal with a lot of variables, without much experience or knowledge.

Outside? Lots of light. Slow shutter speed? Lots of light. You have to deal with balancing the subject with ambient light, and needing to use a long shutter duration just makes it worse.