is this a framer?

12 years 7 months ago - 12 years 7 months ago #130409 by John37

I shot this pretty much in my back yard, at a place I've never seen, even though I passed it a few thousand times. I'm starting to see things in a very different light. A few months ago I would just see this as another run down building in my small town. I did make some edits and my edit skills were taken to the max as I'm still learning how to use the software. There were about 5 fence posts that I took out, and to the way left was a bedframe sitting up against the fence. I really like this photo and I plan on hanging it. I thought about 'bluing' the sky but I think it would've ruined the photo. The only thing I still would like to do is darken the hills on the far right. I tried it but the color was off and it gave it a strange dark gray color. Any thoughts?
Thanks for looking.

"The most endangered species? The honest man!"
Attachments:
12 years 7 months ago #130463 by VT Hiker
You can try to burn those highlights down, but the building itself would still be kind of flat. If you went at a different time of day would the front be lit up? This could make a pretty HDR ("high dynamic range" image, which is a fancy name for [usually] 3 or 4 exposures combined in order to capture highlights or shadows that might be lost in a single exposure).

It does look like a neat place with some potential. Where is it?

Every moment of light and dark is a miracle. - Walt Whitman
12 years 7 months ago #130470 by Baydream
Very nice shot. When you visit again, the old bedframe could be a great subject.

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
12 years 7 months ago #130531 by John37