Sand and Sea

12 years 5 months ago - 12 years 5 months ago #153299 by LauraD
Any suggestions welcome

I am a serious hobbyist and I am constantly trying to challenge myself with new and interesting shots. My photography can also be viewed here:
lauradphotography.zenfolio.com/
laura-daddona.artistwebsites.com/
LauraD.imagekind.com

Attachments:
12 years 5 months ago #153302 by MLKstudios
The sky is blown out in spots, and the sand is a wee bit dark. But still a nice feeling in the shot.

Do you have the original to post? We can see if the cause was exposure or conversion.

HTH :)

Matthew L Kees
MLK Studios Photography School
www.MLKstudios.com
[email protected]
"Every artist, was once an amateur"

The following user(s) said Thank You: LauraD
12 years 5 months ago #153307 by photobod
just darken that sky a tad Laura and you will have a lovely shot :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

www.dcimages.org.uk
"A good photograph is one that communicate a fact, touches the heart, leaves the viewer a changed person for having seen it. It is, in a word, effective." - Irving Penn

12 years 5 months ago #153313 by LauraD
C:\Users\Laura\Pictures\2011-09-29 Indiatlantic Beach\Sand and Sea original.jpg
This is the original converted from RAW and resized, no other post processing

I am a serious hobbyist and I am constantly trying to challenge myself with new and interesting shots. My photography can also be viewed here:
LauraD.imagekind.com

12 years 5 months ago #153314 by LauraD
This is the original converted from RAW and resized, no other post processing

LauraD.imagekind.com

Attachments:
12 years 5 months ago #153316 by MLKstudios
Yes, you have details in the sky!

When converting to black and white, pay attention to two ends of the scale (watch the histogram if possible). Try to keep detail in the highlights AND in the shadows. The rest will fall into place.

:)

Matthew L Kees
www.MLKstudios.com
[email protected]

12 years 5 months ago #153321 by LauraD