Help choosing a super telephoto lens for Canon 5d Mark IV

3 years 2 months ago #660110 by Bivash-Biswas-Eshik-
Hello everyone. I'm a beginner photographer who's starting to dabble in wildlife photography.I have the Canon 5D Mark IV ( Not great for wildlife per se, but i need the versatility of it).
Currently looking for a Super telephoto zoom lens.My budget allows me to go for third party manufacturers rather than L glass and i was looking at the Tamron 150-600 G2 and the Tamron 100-400 Di VC USD.I've seen lots of reviews of both and they seem very good at their price point. But the thing is i'm not sure whether the bump in reach with the 150-600 is gonna be worth it cause I've found no direct comparison between IQ of these lenses.Now i'd like to know whether:1. Is the 150-600 worth it for the extra reach it provides for a beginner wildlife photographer?2. Will the 150-600 be sharp at maximum zoom to be usable?3. Which one has better auto focus and image stabilization/ vibration compensation as i will be hand holding 99 percent of the time?4. The 150-600 is f/5-6.3 whereas the 100-400 is f/4.5-6.3. Will it make much difference?5. Should i even consider the older Sigma 150-600 contemporary?Please help me make a decision asap. Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 years 2 months ago #660111 by Nikon Shooter

Bivash-Biswas-Eshik- wrote: … but i need the versatility of it.

And that would be?

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments

3 years 2 months ago #660114 by Bivash-Biswas-Eshik-
Well since i dont do wildlife exclusively a cropped body was not my first choice :/ 

3 years 2 months ago #660158 by garyrhook
A crop sensor is meaningless. What matters is pixel density. Even if you have to crop your images from the mk IV, you'll still be getting 18+MP, more than adequate. So, yeah, a 7D might seem more appropriate (it's still only 20MP), but I don't think it really matters given pixel counts in modern cameras.