Old lens on digital camera

3 years 1 month ago #708744 by August-Coenders
Hi everyone,

Is there anyone who could give me some advice on lenses? 

Even though I've been doing photography for quite a couple of years by now, I'm still relatively new to it. I am now looking for a new lens (preferably one of 100-200 mm), but, as you probably know, those things are not exactly cheap. Fortunately, my father has an old lens that he no longer uses, but the problem is that this one stems from the pre-digital era in human history, as a result of which it does not fit on my Canon EOS 1300D. 

My question is thus whether I could buy some sort of adapter with which I could fit my father's lens, of which I have uploaded some pictures, on my camera. If so, I would like to hear what your experience with this has been. Can you recommend it? What are the biggest advantages and shortcomings of using an old lens? Also, some advice on where to buy such an adapter would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in anticipation :) 

Attachments:
3 years 1 month ago #708756 by Screamin Scott
I’m not sure of the mount but being an older manual focus lens means it would be a pita using it on your current camera. Not only would you need an adapter, but you would have to focus manually ( not an easy task on a viewfinder designed for auto focusing) but I’m not sure you would get any metering. I shoot Nikon so I’ll let another Canon shooter answer that question. Plus the fact that it is a fairly slow lens means you will have to up the ISO ( and possibly induce noise) and it is just a consumer grade lens.

Scott Ditzel Photography

www.flickr.com/photos/screaminscott/

Photo Comments
3 years 1 month ago #708765 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day August