A question about UV, Haze, and Clear filters

13 years 1 month ago #35889 by fotozone
I am new to the world of DSLR cameras. I just upgraded to a Nikon D3100 from a Olympus Sp590. I have been told to always keep a UV filter on my lenses to protect them, when I went to get the UV filter I saw that there are also Haze-1, Skylight, and Clear. I started trying to research this and now I am more confused. I read in several places that UV filters are unnecessary on a DSLR that it is built in to the sensor. A few articles recommend not using any filters because of lens flare. I do a lot of high elevation shooting and with my Olympus hazy horizons was a big problem. So my question is this what filter do you recommend for everyday shooting? One more question; I also read to get a step up filter so you only need one set of filters to my novice brain this makes sense. Is there any reason not to do this?
13 years 1 month ago #35900 by Baydream
UV, Sky and Clear filters primarily protect your lens from getting scratched (an expensive injury). With a good quality lens, effects should be minimal. In the odd situation that you might get flare, you can always remove the filter, shoot, then replace it. I have a skylight one and a UV on the other lens.
As for size: If you have or are getter lenses of various sizes, the step up would benefit you but you would need different lens caps and may not be able to use lens hoods to control flare. In addition, the larger filters are usually more expensive. For your "protective" lenses, getter filters to match makes sense. If you have 58mm lenses and get a 52mm prime, get a step up for using filters like polarizers that can run into money.

For those hazy horizons, a circular polarizer may help.

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
13 years 1 month ago #35966 by Joves