Optical Slave Triggers

8 months 3 weeks ago #666235 by Jon East
Morning.  I'm a bit new to flash photography and my question today deals with triggering flashes that don't have a "slave" option.  If you are trying to trigger multiple flashes that don't have a slave setting, what is needed to trigger them with a Sony a7R III?

Are these things universal?

Thanks guys

Photo Comments

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

8 months 3 weeks ago #666250 by garyrhook
You'll need a wireless remote system: Pocket Wizard, for example, or similar.

No, they're hardly universal. Each manufacturer wants to lock you into a system (surprise!) so research and choose wisely.

Photo Comments

8 months 3 weeks ago #666269 by Nikon Shooter

Jon East wrote: Are these things universal?

Yes they are… contrary to some dedicated radios transceivers in TTL
mode. The question is: "is your flash equipped with a slave receiver?"

In any case, going for a radio system is a better option as suggested
because it is reaching farther and without suffering light interferences.

Light is free… capturing it is not!
This person is a posting maniac and deserves a #1 badge!Top Poster
Photo Comments

8 months 3 weeks ago #666288 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Jon

There are other difficulties with Optical Triggers ...

If you are using the built-in camera flash -or- an external flash which is set to TTL, then you need to realise that the flash is actuated 2 or 3 times as part of the actual exposure. Roughly, #1 determines exposure and #2 is the exposure (or if #2 is a red-eye-reduction flash, then #3 becomes the exposure). All these "mini-flashes" occur so fast that generally we are unable to tell them apart

If you are using a 'simple' trigger that responds immediately it sees a flash, you will find that your slave flashguns have all fired during the 'check-the-exposure' initial flash rather than the 'take the photo' flash