Let me introduce myself

12 years 3 months ago #182794 by ICUC2
Hello everyone,

I am pleased to have found Photographytalk! I sincerely enjoy viewing the artistic works of others, almost as much ~ not quite but almost ~ as much as I enjoy taking photos. I am a retired grandmother who now has the time to enjoy some of the things I love. One of my favorite things to do is to get in the car ~ run away for the day and do nothing but take photos of things that catch my eye.

I am nocturnal by nature (if my life would allow it, I'd stay up all night and sleep all day!) Therefore, I do have a special interest in night photography. I also prefer nature shots; sunsets, insects, trees, flowers, animals, streams, rivers, etc. over portraits. I was born and raised in the rural midwest. I currently live in a small village that doesn't even have a grocery store. Can you imagine that?

I am a self confessed novice. However I am like a dry sponge, I have a compelling need to soak up anything and everything related to photography. I have taken 4 photography classes at a Jr. College, all of which I would classify as just the basics.

I have a Cannon Rebel XS, 18-55mm and a 75-300mm lens, a tripod, and a old (430EZ) Speedlite (bought used). That is the extent of my equipment. I also have an older version of Photoshop (CS3). I'd love to have bigger and better... actually I want it ALL... but finances prohibit what I want. I feel blessed to have what I do and my plan is to enjoy it to the fullest.

I have no desire to make an income from my photos. I find it very relaxing to go shooting and relaxing I can use! I figure you are never to old to learn and that is another reason I am here.... to learn!!! I sincerely look forward to meeting everyone and viewing your fantastic art through photography.

12 years 3 months ago #182798 by chasrich
:welcomeclan :welcomeclan :welcomeclan