Macro Lens

12 years 6 months ago #145309 by DawnyK
Hi guys,

I'm looking at getting a Macro lens in the not too distant future... I now have a Nikon D5100 - I used to own Canon and a macro lens - however, I no longer have these... :(

I've been doing some research on the Macro 105mm Nikkor lens :drool:... and the Sigma 105mm macro lens...

In your opinion... (and I'm still a beginner... ) Which lens is best ? Apart from the Sigma being cheaper...
I've really already said to myself I'll save up for the Nikkor lens... However... Is it really necessary ? :huh:

Happy Clicking

Dawn

12 years 6 months ago #145321 by robbie
Some third party lenses are as good as Nikon at a much cheaper price but you need a good review
forum.....check this out...
www.fredmiranda.com/reviews/showcat.php?cat=12

12 years 6 months ago #145322 by srfotog
I just purchased the Nikon 105mm and have used it for just a day. I love it for macro as you don't have to get so close to the subject. It's also great for distance. I also have the Nikon 60mm and love that one, too. I think the advantage of a 105 over the 60 is you don't need a ring light for daytime photos. I am hopeing to get a ring light as my next purchase, but after spending so much for the lens, that will have to wait.

I will say, though, if you can only get one right now and will be saving for the Nikon to purchase later on, perhaps the 60mm would be just fine for now. I've had my 60mm for about six months and it takes beautiful closeups.

I just switched this year from Canon to Nikon, so I'm replacing all of my equipment as I can. I did have a sigma lens for the Canon Rebel and it took really nice pictures. Personally, I'd stick with the Nikon brand, but that just me.

12 years 6 months ago #145542 by Borrowlenses
The Nkkor 105mm f/2.8 VR Micro is an amazing lens in ever respect. I have not shot with the Sigma but LOVE the Nikon.