Warning! Nikon Canada Will Void Warranty Without Proof

8 years 10 months ago - 8 years 10 months ago #442753 by JeremyS
I wanted to inform people about my recent experience with Nikon Canada's Customer Service. Sadly it was nowhere near what I thought Nikon would be.

Some back story into the situation before I explain what happened. I'm a photographer that babies his gear. I never have a lens cap off, the cameras and lenses are cleaned regularly, they are never outside of a bag unless I am using them and when travelling I usually end up double bagging my gear inside of two different camera bags (Lens case and then a camera bag holding the lens cases), inside of a carry on piece of luggage that doesn't leave my side.
Anyway, you have probably got the message that I wouldn't let my camera fall or face an impact or be bumped, especially not misused and abused.

Recently in March of 2015, I was on a vacation at the Grand Canyon taking photos and my top LCD panel cracked. How this happened, only god knows, it cracked between the time I put it in my camera bag, in the car on my lap, and the time I took it out of the camera bag 15 minutes later from my lap. This rules out any kind of impact damage causing the crack.
To get to Nikon's Customer Service. I sent in a service request to Nikon and was told this would not cover warranty (even though the warranty is 2 years against manufacturers flaws, which I could easily argue that this was) They then decided that it would be fair to charge me 300$ in repairs. I declined this because I felt that it is impossible for me to be told that because I dropped it, or misused my camera that it would not cover warranty.