Nikon 1 J5

6 years 1 month ago #572050 by John-Pepp
I'm a computer graphics designer and a web developer by trade, but love photography as a hobby.
I started getting serious in amatuer photography when I bought a Nikon D80 DSLR and I have been using up to this year. It still works and I have bought camera gear over the years with some nice Nikon Lens for it. While it still works I felt the need for a digital camera with a higher resolution than the D80's 10 megapixel resolution. However, I didn't want to break the bank paying for an expensive Nikon body. I would if I were a professional photographer, but I'm not and probably will never be. Anyways, after doing some research I decided on the Nikon 1 J5 for it was cheap, had LED screen for taking pictures (I can't stand looking through a viewfinder) and I can use my nice old Nikons lens using a FT-1 adapter. My nikon VR 300mm works sweet with it.  I spent around $550 (give or take) for the camera and a couple of nikon 1 lens (I had a gift certificate that I used on it), plus necessary accessories like extra batteries  . I know the Nikon 1 system doesn't use a full sensor and in all sense obsolete even though Nikon hasn't officially made it so. I like that it's a small lightweight camera when using the Nikon 1 lens and that the J5 gives me manual, aperture, shutter and program modes that a smartphone can't (well at least not yet). 

I love taking pictures of wildlife especially birds (raptures and hummingbirds) and old vintage WW2 airplanes. I hopefully be using Nikon 1 J5 camera for a long time like my Nikon D8 camera.

Here's an example of a picture I have already taken with the camera.

Attachments:
6 years 1 month ago #572066 by Vespista
:welcomeclan
Hi and welcome to the 'site.
Sounds like you're happy with your gear, which is great.
Part of the fun of photography is that it can be enjoyed at any level with any equipment.
You'll find plenty of helpful, like-minded friends here, so any questions, just ask!