Upgrading from D5100 to D750 or D500

5 years 10 months ago #583128 by sierracharlie338
Ok here is where I am at. I have a D5100 and have had it for a few years. I am an amateur picture taker and not looking to make a living with my camera but I like having high quality equipment for my hobbies and not to mention want to produce high quality pictures. While I don't have and unlimited budget I am looking to upgrade my body to something with some better features. 

I can't decide between the D750 or the D500. I feel like either would be outstanding for what I generally will be doing with it. I mostly will be using it for wildlife, landscape and pictures of my kiddo. Low light performance is also something that I will be looking for since the wildlife Ill be shooting are commonly out in that golden hour. 

So the question is: Mid line FX or top of the line DX? I dont have enough experience with manual photography in general to make a confident decision at this point and would appreciate some input. I have been doing a lot of reading and looking at reviews of both cameras and I think I am leaning one way but wanted extra input from people that know more than I. 

Thanks in advance. 

SC

Photo Comments
5 years 10 months ago - 5 years 10 months ago #583212 by effron
D750 would be my choice (full frame) but consider, the "proper" lenses usually cost more than the DX glass.....Both are fine bodies, don't over think it.
(and I don't consider the D750 mid line, its a top notch camera)

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
5 years 10 months ago #583218 by sierracharlie338
Awesome thanks for the input! 

Photo Comments
5 years 10 months ago #583260 by garyrhook
I moved from a D5100 to a D750 2.5 years ago, and have never regretted it. Don't miss a crop sensor, and I can shoot in very low light and get usable images.

You can use the D750 in DX mode until you get your glass upgraded.

If you really can't decide, rent one for a few days.

Photo Comments