Advice on Lenses, Zoo Visit?

5 years 1 month ago #636228 by labcat_crafter
I'm just starting out with DSLRs, and I was hoping I could get some advice. I'm going to Indianapolis with a friend soon, and we're planning to go to the Garfield Park Sunken Garden and the zoo. The zoo has a butterfly enclosure that I'd love to get some photos of.

I've been trying to figure out what lenses to bring. My camera is a D3400, and it came with two lenses, the AF-P DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR and the AF-P DX Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-6.3G ED. I'm thinking of only bringing the 70-300, but I feel I would need a tripod since it doesn't have VR?  

I've also been looking at renting a macro lens to take with me. Given that I'll be photographing insects and sticking within a budget, would the 85mm f/3.5G AF-S VR DX Micro be a good choice? I've been between it and the 60mm, and they're comparable in rental price. I'm not sure if one would be too close with a 60mm if it's an insect.

I'm also looking to buy a prime lens, and given that the D3400 is a crop sensor, should I go with the 35mm so it's a 52.5 equivalence? Or would I be better off with a 50mm which would be like a 75mm? 

I hope I've made sense, and I know this is a lot of questions. I've tried to research and get as good at understanding all of this as I can, but I'd really like some opinions from people much, much more educated than I am. :) Thank you!

5 years 1 month ago #636233 by Nikon Shooter

labcat_crafter wrote:  I'm thinking of only bringing the 70-300 …  

If the perfect shot is there but you don't have the 18~55 you'
re gonna hate yourself for ever and a day, maybe longer! :rofl:

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
5 years 1 month ago #636237 by labcat_crafter
So given limited space, should I go with both the 18-55 and the 70-300, and also a macro lens and leave a prime lens at home? Like I said, super super new at this, so I'm still trying to figure out what my "perfect shot" even is. X'D